search
Briefmarke UdSSR, Zentralmuseum der Kommunikation „A. S. Popov“ St. Petersburg, Wikimedia Commons, V. Zavyalov (Notafly)
festive event lecture panel discussion

The Power of Science in Times of Change

Do We Need a Humboldtian Esprit to Properly Understand the World?

Date

14.05.19
15:30-
19:00 Uhr
Registration by 7 May 2019 is compulsory.

Address

Academy of Arts
Pariser Platz 4
10117 Berlin
Show on Map

During his expedition in the Russian Empire, in 1829, Alexander von Humboldt travelled form St Petersburg to the Ural and Altai Mountains, to the border with China, to Central Asia, the Caspian Sea and along the Volga River. The scientific findings of his trip were compiled in the book Asie Centrale, published in 1844. His geological findings contributed to the extensive mapping of raw material deposits in the South Ural Massive, which laid the basis for the industrialisation of the Ural Region.

Tsar Nicholas I of Russia appreciated Humboldt’s mission with the following words: “Your arrival in Russia triggered an unprecedented advancement in the whole country; you induce a positive dynamic in every place that you visit.”

The pillars of Humboldt’s work, such as curiosity, empiricism or the analysis of interdependencies, backstopped by his cosmopolitanism, left a significant legacy in the science of the 19thand 20thcentury. Humboldt became fellow of the most prominent scholarly societies of his time, being a regular fellow of the Leopoldina Academy in Germany and honorary fellow of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

Remembering Humboldt’s Russian expedition, the event bridges the historic and present research-driven investigation of Eurasia and Central Asia. Several lectures highlight current research questions alongside the historical route of the expedition, such as mining in the Urals, water issues in Central Asia or biodiversity in the Altay-Sayan Ecoregion. Subsequently, a panel of leading figures of science and higher education from Germany, Russia and Central Asia discuss the state of affairs and prospects in their field of activity. The panel addresses several questions: how does science communicate and convey its expertise to the society? How can higher education, research and innovation contribute to the development of a country or region? What hard and soft power lies in the hands of science?

Organizer

Contact

Lucian Brujan
0345 – 47 239 – 836

Briefmarke UdSSR, Zentralmuseum der Kommunikation „A. S. Popov“ St. Petersburg, Wikimedia Commons, V. Zavyalov (Notafly)
Festveranstaltung Vortrag Podiumsdiskussion

Die Macht der Wissenschaft in einer Zeit im Wandel

Brauchen wir einen Humboldt’schen Esprit, um die Welt richtig zu verstehen?

Datum

14.05.19
15:30-
19:00 Uhr
Eine Anmeldung bis zum 7. Mai 2019 ist erforderlich.

Adresse

Akademie der Künste
Pariser Platz 4
10117 Berlin
Auf Karte zeigen

Die Expedition Alexander von Humboldts im Russischen Kaiserreich führte ihn im Jahre 1829 von St. Petersburg ins Ural- und Altai-Gebirge, an die Grenze mit China, nach Zentralasien, ans Kaspische Meer und entlang der Wolga. Die wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse dieser Reise mündeten in das 1844 erschienene Buch Asie Centrale. Die geologischen Entdeckungen trugen zur umfassenden Identifizierung der Rohstoffvorkommen im Südural bei, die als Basis für die Industrialisierung dienten. Zar Nikolai I. lobte Humboldts Einsatz mit folgenden Worten: « Ihre Ankunft in Russland verursachte einen beispiellosen Aufstieg im ganzen Land; Sie wecken das Leben überall, wo immer Sie erscheinen. »

Die Eckpfeiler des Humboldt’schen Wirkens, wie etwa Wissensgier, Empirie oder die Erforschung der Wechselwirkungen, getragen von seinem Weltbürgertum, hinterließen weltweit zahlreiche Spuren in der Wissenschaft des 19. und 20. Jh. Humboldt wurde in die wichtigsten Gelehrtengesellschaften seiner Zeit berufen, unter anderem als Leopoldina-Mitglied und Ehrenmitglied der Russischen Akademie der Wissenschaften.

Ausgehend von Humboldts Russland-Expedition, möchte die Veranstaltung eine Brücke zwischen der damaligen und der heutigen Erforschung Eurasiens-Zentralasiens schlagen. In verschiedenen Vorträgen werden aktuelle forschungsbezogene Themen entlang der historischen Route der Russland-Expedition vorgestellt. Im Anschluss diskutieren Experten die Lage und die Perspektiven für die Wissenschaftssysteme Deutschlands, Russlands und Zentralasiens: Wie vermittelt Wissenschaft ihre Expertise in die Öffentlichkeit? Wie kann Hochschulbildung und Wissenschaft die Entwicklung eines Landes oder einer Region mitgestalten? Welche faktische und sanfte Macht besitzt die Wissenschaft?

Veranstalter

Kontakt

Lucian Brujan
0345 – 47 239 – 836