search

An Entire Year with Alexander von Humboldt: Events Marking the 250thAnniversary of His Birth

Even if the cosmopolitan Alexander von Humboldt spent long periods of his life in London, Paris, or on expeditions in distant lands, his extensive work is also omnipresent in Berlin. Numerous institutions in Berlin and Brandenburg bear his name and maintain his legacy, bringing it into the future.

To mark the 250thanniversary of the birth of this researcher and explorer, these institutions will be jointly celebrating Humboldt’s life and his wide-ranging work with numerous events. This is an incredible undertaking, for Humboldt’s work is almost as expansive as the regions and subjects he researched.

Join us in tracing Humboldt’s footsteps through the rainforests of South America or the steppes of Siberia. Explore astronomy, mineralogy, botany, and zoology, as well as human rights and ecological issues. Let yourself be guided by Humboldt’s own thirst for knowledge, his joy in discovery and his desire to understand global contexts.

We invite you to join us for a diverse and inspiring thematic year!

On Twitter please use the hashtag #AvH250.

search

Ein ganzes Jahr mit  Alexander von Humboldt – alle Veranstaltungen zum 250. Geburtstag

Auch wenn sich der Weltbürger Alexander von Humboldt lange Zeit seines Lebens in London, Paris oder auf Expedition in fernen Ländern aufhielt, ist sein umfangreiches Schaffen in Berlin allgegenwärtig. Zahlreiche Institutionen und Einrichtungen in Berlin-Brandenburg tragen seinen Namen, bewahren sein Vermächtnis und setzen es fort.

Zum 250. Geburtstag des Forschers und Entdeckers feiern diese Institutionen gemeinsam und widmen Humboldts umfangreichen Werk und seinem Leben zahlreiche Veranstaltungen. Ein unglaubliches Unterfangen – denn Humboldts Schaffen ist fast ebenso weitläufig wie die Gebiete und Themen, die er erforschte.

Begeben Sie sich mit uns auf Humboldts Spuren in die Regenwälder Südamerikas und in die Steppe Sibiriens. Beschäftigen Sie sich mit Astronomie, Mineralogie, Botanik und Zoologie, ebenso wie mit Menschenrechten und ökologischen Fragen. Lassen Sie sich leiten vom Wissensdurst Humboldts, der Freude am Entdecken und dem Wunsch nach Verständnis globaler Zusammenhänge.

Wir laden Sie ein zu einem vielfältigen und anregenden Themenjahr!

Unter dem Hashtag #AvH250 können Sie dazu twittern.